Current Events, Politics

Gays vs. The Church: Whose to Blame?

I have a theory, and while I don’t expect many of my church-going Christians to agree with me, I am going to stand my ground.  This mess that we, as a nation, find ourselves in with the gay community is of our own design.  Yes, I am blaming (certain) Christians.

Here is a quick history lesson.  Any group, social, religious or otherwise, unites in solidarity when they are under attack.  The gay community pretty much kept to themselves … until they became targets by zealots within the Christian Church (Catholic and Evangelicals just to name a few).  Once these zealots called out the gay community, they did what any group that is threatened does – they organized.  Now the gay community is a powerful weapon in both political and social realms because they were forced to do so by those who saw them as an easy target.

History has taught us, even the Bible has, that homosexuality has existed for centuries.  Yet, it took those who screamed from the pulpits attacking this group to mobilize and become a force to be reckoned with.  Since the 60’s men and women have been more fervent in their desire to be accepted because, from the pulpits, they were defiantly forced out of their proverbial closets and have been slamming doors behind themselves ever since.

We are ALL filled with sin, none of us, not a preacher preaching to a crowd of thousands or a believer sharing the gospel with a friend, can say that we are perfect. In fact, we are far from it.  We have been told by Christ not to judge one another, only to love one another.  The message that Jesus came to us with was to love one another and let Him do the rest.  1 Corinthians 13 says it best;

The Excellence of Love

1If I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but do not have love, I have become a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal.2If I have the gift of prophecy, and know all mysteries and all knowledge; and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. 3And if I give all my possessions to feed the poor, and if I surrender my body to be burned, but do not have love, it profits me nothing.

4Love is patient, love is kind and is not jealous; love does not brag and is not arrogant, 5does not act unbecomingly; it does not seek its own, is not provoked, does not take into account a wrong suffered, 6does not rejoice in unrighteousness, but rejoices with the truth; 7bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

8Love never fails; but if there are gifts of prophecy, they will be done away; if there are tongues, they will cease; if there isknowledge, it will be done away. 9For we know in part and we prophesy in part; 10but when the perfect comes, the partial will be done away. 11When I was a child, I used to speak like a child, think like a child, reason like a child; when I became a man, I did away with childish things. 12For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face; now I know in part, but then I will know fully just as I also have been fully known. 13But now faith, hope, love, abide these three; but the greatest of these is love.

As a Christian I believe the Bible when it states that homosexuality is a sin and that marriage should be between a man and a woman.  Yet is it my responsibility to point a finger where I should be reaching out a hand?   If the Church and the select few who angrily were allowed to target the gay community had handled things differently decades ago, the entire Chick-Fil-A controversy might have been avoided.

There a lots of sins expressed in the Bible; the two most well-known are the Seven Deadly Sins and of course, The Ten Commandments.   Yet, if you notice, homosexuality is NOT listed in either.   Apparently the Lord felt that other sins were more important to highlight.  Why aren’t preachers getting red in the face about Lust, Gluttony, Greed, Sloth, Wrath, Envy and Pride?   Many people in the gay community feel chastised by the Church and we as Christians are knowingly keeping them out of the Church and distant from Christ and a loving God because of these misguided preachers.

In short, until God sends Moses back up that mountain and adds an 11th Commandment regarding homosexuality … Christians should do what the Lord has mandated us to do – love one another – and let Him do the rest.

Leave a Reply

